New Hampshire – Hanover to Lincoln

I’m just starting the White Mountains, and so far it has been spectacular.  And muddy.  And steep.  I imagine the next time I’ll have data will be in Gorham, in about six days (maybe). 

image

A view from mount cube.  Not in the whites yet!

image

image

image

image

Jeffers Brook, on the southern slope of Mt. Moosilauke, first mountain of the whites.

image

image

image

Descending Mt. Moosilauke was incredibly steep.  Also, I only made it seven miles the day before my descent because I took the wrong trail down the mountain from the very top, in heavy rain.  I had to climb all the way back to the top and descend again on the correct path.  It was a wet, frustrating day.  I saved the very steep part for the next morning though, after the rain had stopped.

image

Awol’s guided powerline tour of America!

image

image

image

Views from Kinsman Mountain.  Everything gets steeper and harder from here, say all southbounders.

image

I ran into Jack, a southbounder that Fly and I met at Shaw’s!  We hiked the last few miles of the descent and hitched into Lincoln.

Leave a Reply

